Board of Directors

Through the generosity of its donors and the expertise of its board, the Solti Foundation U.S. identifies, supports and promotes emerging young conductors as they launch their classical careers.

In doing so, the Foundation extends the legacy and influence of Sir Georg by ensuring that very promising American conductors, age 38 and under, get the opportunity to demonstrate their musicianship, leadership, and full potential to the broadest possible audience.

The Board of Directors of the Solti Foundation U.S. meets at least three times a year to direct the activities of the Foundation. It ratifies the work of the Artistic and Awards Committee in selecting each year’s Solti Fellow and the recipient of any Career Assistance Awards; oversees fundraising, in particular through the Foundation’s annual benefit dinner; and works to further the careers of its past awardees, often through partnerships with prominent arts organizations. Members include musicians, arts administrators, business and civic leaders, and educators, all of them dedicated to promoting excellence in music.


Valerie Solti, Honorary Chair

Penny Van Horn, Chair

Kay Mabie, Vice Chair

Nicholas Martin, Secretary

Gretchen Zook, Treasurer

John Aalbregste

Elizabeth Buccheri

Michelle Miller Burns

Mary Jane Drews

Mark George

Martha Gilmer

William R. Jentes

David McNeel

Zarin Mehta

Stephen Potter

Gabrielle Solti

Peter Wiggins

Duain Wolfe

Owen Youngman

In Memoriam
Richard Gray,
Founding Director

Mitzie Freidheim,
Director Emeritus

Dietrich Gross,
Director Emeritus

Thomas B. McNeill,
Director Emeritus,
Past Chair


Artistic and Awards Committee

Elizabeth Buccheri, Chair

Pamela Bullock

Duain Wolfe



Fiona Queen, Administrator

1555 Sherman Street, Suite 310

Evanston, IL 60201

847-448-8329 |

Laura Grant, Public relations